Ballydehob Community Council


Ballydehob & Area Community Council

BACC involve themselves with different projects aimed to improve life and business in the area.

In recent years the BACC purchased Bank House, left vacant when Allied Irish Bank withdrew its rural services on the Mizen Peninsula apart from a new mobile bank. In Bank House the BACC run a tourist office and the Ballydehob Arts Museum in summer months. Bank House also hosts  the popular Talks at the Vault in Autumn/Spring. Bank House is used by community groups and festivals (subject to proof of insurance) for lectures and workshops. BACC organises the annual St Patrick’s Day Parade and contribute to local festivals.

The Council’s primary means of financing comes through the Community Charity Shop and the popular weekly LOTTO draw.  Tickets for the lotto are available in all participating businesses for €2 each, or 3 for €5. Results posted weekly in Southern Star Ballydehob Notes and on Facebook.

Council Directors are Ballydehob residents voted onto the Council by fellow residents every five years. These representatives meet in the Bank House every first Monday of the month (except August) to conduct business on behalf of the village.

BACC and Community Alert were formed in 1993 to help promote the interests of Ballydehob and surrounding area. It is affiliated to the National Organisation called “Muintir na Tire” which was founded in 1931 by Cannon Hayes of Tipperary for self help and self reliance of communities in rural Ireland.

Contact Details

General Queries:
Public Relations Officer Deb Beale:
Secretary Sarah Canty:



Your Council Representatives:

ARDURA – Liam Twomey (treasurer)



BOLEAGH – Francine Thurnheer

CAPPAGHGLASS – Pat Mantel  ( Asst PRO)

COORAGURTEEN – Kathleen O’Sullivan


GORTNAGROUGH – William Swanton (Chair)

LETTER – Marcia Long

LETTER – Deborah Beale (PRO)

RAHEENROE – Billy O’Regan (Asst Sec)

RAHEENROE – Kathy O’Regan

SHANAVAGH – Sarah Canty (Secretary)

STOUKE – Nora McSweeney

TOWN – Jason Lee (Asst PRO)

TOWN – Joanne Cassidy

TOWN – Patrick Healy (Asst Chair)

View all Community